Mykhailivs’ka Square is located in the heard of Kyiv on the top of the Hill.
Many remarkable buildings such as Ministry of foreign affairs, Diplomatic Academy, Intercontinental Hotel, and Appeal Court enframe this area. For sure they are important buildings functionally and architecturally wise but main attractions of the place are St.Michael’s Golden-Domed Monastery and Monument of St.Olga. Both these structures represent a profound historical heritage of Ukrainian nation .
A rich history of the monastery contains many dramatical moments including almost complete demolishing in 1930’s by Soviet regime. Originaly build in Middle Ages by a ruler of Kyivan Rus Sviatopolk II Iziaslavych the monastery served as a royal family cloister and preserved remains of the Sviatopolk’s family. The monastery comprises the Cathedral itself, the Refectory of St. John the Divine, built in 1713, the Economic Gates, constructed in 1760 and the monastery’s bell tower, which was added c. 1716–1719. The exterior of the structure was rebuilt in the Ukrainian Baroque style in the 18th century while the interior remained in its original Byzantine style.
Same as the neighboring monastery the monument of St.Olga experienced hard times with full destruction during the Soviet period. Right after the October Revolution of 1917 the statue was broken and buried right under the square. It back to the place only with Ukrainian Independence in 1996, with original design but made of white marble. Now the tall figure of St. Olga, accompanied by educators St. Cyril and St. Methodius at her right hand and apostle St. Andrew at left one, symbolize an indomitable nature and profound wisdom of Ukrainians.
Mykhailivs’ka Square 360˚ time-laps video. From Kyiv with love 💕 🇺🇦
2,485 total views, no views today